4.8.16

MF8 Square-1


Well, I couldn’t go any bigger, so I went different!

I got this cube fairly recently – the first year I started cubing, I was bought a Super Square-1 for Christmas. Baffling. I had no idea what was going on. 

Now, you would hope that this story ended with me being happy with solving a Square-1. 

WRONG!

I still can’t do this thing!!

I just can’t get inspired to figure it out!!

I recently started expanding my higher order collection (I’m sure you saw the 10×10 saga). 

Well, I’d spoken to Andy on the Facebook Puzzle Trader page (see links page) a while back and he was saying how he solved bigger cubes more like a 2×2 than 3×3 reduction. I liked the idea, but didn’t get round to doing it…

When I did, I had to relearn some cuboid algorithms – corner swaps etc.  

As I was doing these, I started thinking about using these on the smaller edges on the Square-1. I guessed the 180 degree turning would relate it to a cuboid. 

Again, I would love to say I was right, or wrong, but I just didn’t get around to it!! So, today will be the day…..

This one came from ZCube for less than five pounds. I bought it because I wanted to figure out the Square-1, but the super version was a bit more than I could be bothered with at the time!

Here’s this one scrambled:


Now, only 12 days to go. It’s getting close. If you have any interest in my new venture, you can find out what is going on at I On Mayden….

Leave a Reply

