1.8.16

Shengshou Megaminx


Here we go. Last three weeks. It’s going to fly by, I’m sure….


Today it’s time for a cube that isn’t a cube! A megaminx. 

So, after I learned my lesson the other week – a quick summary. A cube that’s not a cube? Basically, this is a 3×3 x 12. Of sorts. It’s works the same and interacts the same way as a 3×3 does, just with more sides to solve. The same algorithms work – just with a slight modification – to twist a face back to starting position takes five turns instead of the normal three on a 3×3 cube. Not rocket science and with a bit of figuring, should be easy enough if you can solve a standard cube. 

This one is a Shengshou. Nothing special. Well, I say that but my Amazon order history shows this was the first non 3×3 puzzle I bought (I think I bought an official Rubik’s 3×3, then a Dayan Panchi, which was a birthday gift, then a Dayan Zanchi and then this). So a bit of a milestone. 

I vaguely remember getting it. And figuring it out on my own – I was very new to vining, but was able to do this with my very small knowledge of solving a 3×3. 

Considering how cheap this was, it’s a very nice puzzle. Well made, turns VERY well, well stickered. I can’t really fault it. It’s definitely not a speedsolving puzzle, but that’s not really my bag, so I am happy with it. 

If you have a fairly large collection, I’m sure you already have a megaminx. If you don’t, branch out – give it a try!

Here it is scrambled:


See you tomorrow for another countdown day!

Leave a Reply

