13.7.16

“Rubbish” charity shop super 4×4 *UPDATE*

Well, today is a bit of an update. A bit of a success story. 

You may remember super cube week a while back? Well, the cheap super 4×4 was annoying me. The girl I bought it for went on holiday for a week or so. I thought that, whilst she was away, I would solve the cube for her.

How wrong I was…..

The thing was IMPOSSIBLE to turn. Not the greatest video, I admit, but take a look at how bad it really was:


So, I thought I would take it home and try to fix it for her…

What I found was: disgust!

I took the thing apart:


And it was obvious how dirty it was:


So, I went about cleaning it up. You can see just how filthy it was:


I then started attempting to reassemble it  (after the 10×10 – piece of cake! Right? WRONG!). It was almost impossible!

The inner centre pieces just wouldn’t stay in – there was no integrity as with the 10×10 – as those inner pieces went in, they sort of held each other in place. Not this….

Over the past couple of weeks, my tiredness level has gone through the roof. Every time I touched it, another piece fell out. I just haven’t had the energy to do it. 

UNTIL TODAY! (5am this morning, to be precise):


I struggled with the centres again, but powered through with a bit of a new plan of attack:


Made fairly quick progress:


You may wonder why I taped it as I went – it was so feeble, it just wouldn’t stay together – even with the screws as tight as they would go. 

Anyway, the last piece was a bit of a struggle, but I made it. 

I’d put a tiny bit of lube in the middle layer as I built it, but not much. 

Couldn’t be happier with the end result:


See you tomorrow for more insomnia-induced adventures!

Leave a Reply

