23.6.16

Moyu 4×4 Axis cube

So, sticking with the super theme, here is another favourite of mine. The 4×4 axis cube. 

The 3×3 was one of the first 3×3 shape mods I encountered. Initially, I found it so confusing, but then it quickly became a favourite. 

When I heard about a mass-produced 4×4, my interest was definitely aroused!

For once, I can’t remember where I got this from. Definitely one of the big Chinese sites – it was a one-off order just for this cube. 

It’s a very well made puzzle. Turns so well, doesn’t lock up. I guess you just have to be sure to line it up properly before turning. 

Since buying it, these have gone down in price. Still a bit more than yesterday’s rhombic dodecahedron, but can be bought for less than £20 – the usual suspects can be found on the links page. 

I suppose, the hope is that a mass-produced 5×5 axis will follow, but I don’t know how likely that is. Maybe I’ll ask Moyu….

In case it isn’t clear, I am a BIG FAN of this cube. Can’t recommend it enough – a good challenge picking out pieces and matching up centres. 

It should still be easy enough if you can solve a 4×4, but in case you get stuck Rline has recently uploaded a tutorial here. His channel is well worth a look – his method is based around just two moves/algorithms to solve a HUGE variety of puzzles. 

Anyway, a highly recommended puzzle. Not too expensive and definitely one you can go back to again and again – also, another culprit for future layer by layer solves. 

Here it is scrambled:

More tomorrow, pop pickers!

Leave a Reply

